You are here

Distinguished Alumni Academy

L to R: Joel B. Wilder ’58, President Gloria Cordes Larson and Chairman Terry Carleton ’77

The Distinguished Alumni Academy honors those graduates who have demonstrated the highest level of leadership in their profession and community. Academy members are considered to be the university’s most prestigious alumni. 

Joel Wilder ‘58 is the most recent inductee into the Distinguished Alumni Academy. Wilder, co-founder and chairman emeritus of the Wilder Companies, was also founder of the firm’s predecessor company, Wilder-Manly Associates, Inc. The Wilder Companies, established 35 years ago, is one of the nation’s top shopping center development and management firms. Wilder’s background in shopping center real estate spans nearly 40 years, with expertise in developing, financing, rehabilitating and managing retail properties from coast to coast.

Wilder is an active participant in many area community activities, including the Cape Cod Healthcare Foundation and the Jupiter (Florida) Medical Center Foundation. He has served on the boards of trustees at Beth Israel Hospital, Pope John Seminary, Horizons for Youth and the Boston Real Estate Board. Wilder also has been a guest lecturer at the MIT School of Real Estate Studies.

Wilder received his certificate in accountancy from the Bentley School of Accounting and Finance in 1958. He was also awarded an honorary doctorate of Commercial Science from Bentley College in 2001. He was appointed to the Bentley College board of trustees in 1990 and is currently a trustee emeritus. 


Watch a video highlighting Joel Wilder's life and continued involvement with Bentley University.

Distinguished Alumni Academy members:

Edward G. Anderson ’65
Robert R. Anderson ’59
Joe Antonellis MBA ’82
Kevin F. Armata '78
Joaquin E. Bacardi III '89
Frank H. Brenton ’49
Paul W. Briggs ’42
Beryl H. Bunker ’58 *
Rich Caturano ’74, MST ‘85
J. Terence Carleton ’77
Wayne P. Coffin ’67
John T. Collins ’69
Paul Condrin ’83
William M. Egan ’55
Milton L. Glass ’48
Joanne G. Hofmann-Sexeny ’73
Coleman F. Hogan ’42 *
Donald B. Holmes ’69
John B. Hurley ’66
Walter R. Jennings ’55
Arthur G. Koumantzelis ’49
Alphonse M. Luccese ’70
James G. Maguire ’63
Christine Manfredi ’73
I. Norman Massry '78
Elkin B. McCallum ’67
Gordon J. McLenithan ’67
Nathan R. Miller ’54
Timothy C. O’Brien ’70
William K. O’Brien ’67
Edward H. Pendergast ’65, MST ’77
William J. Pruyn ’41
Mark B. Skaletsky ’70
James F. Smith ’56
Dick Vitale ’67, MST ’85
Les Vitale ’74, MST ’01
Ernest E. Washington Jr. ’73
Joel B. Wilder '58
Ellen D. Winters ’47
Norman M. Wise ’65
Brian T. Zino ’74