You are here

Internships & Directed Study

Obtaining a Graduate Internship

Step 1: Review the Academic Requirements and Policies and complete the first page of the application.

Step 2: Academic Qualification

  • Schedule an advising appointment to review academic qualifications. The advisor will complete the academic qualification section of the application.
  • International students must consult with the Center for International Students and Scholars (Student Center 350) to determine requirements and eligibility for Curricular Practical Training (CPT) and Optional Practical Training (OPT).
  • Graduate Assistants and Research Assistants are not allowed to complete an internship while serving in this role.

Step 3: Review the available internships. Graduate Career Services advisors are available for appointments to discuss the internship options.

Step 4: Schedule an appointment with the appropriate Faculty Internship Coordinators:

AC 590 and AC 701
Karen Osterheld
Adamian 282
781.891.2724
kosterheld@bentley.edu

CS 701, CS 881 and CS 590
Dennis Anderson
Smith 400
781.891.2238
danderson@bentley.edu

EC 701
Jeff Livingston
Adamian Academic Center 171
781.891.2538
jlivingston@bentley.edu

ETH 701
W. Michael Hoffman
Adamian 116
781.891.3434
mhoffman@bentley.edu

FI 590 and FI 701
Claude Cicchetti
Morison 121
781.891.2511
ccicchetti@bentley.edu

FP 590 and FP 781
Scott Thomas
Morison 284
781.891.2979
sthoma1@bentley.edu

HF 590 and HF 790
William Gribbons
Adamian 261
781.891.2926
wgribbons@bentley.edu

IB 701
Goli Eshghi
Adamian 317
781.891.2181
egoli@bentley.edu

IPM 701, IPM 590
Dennis Anderson
Smith 400
781.891.2238
danderson@bentley.edu

MG 590 and MG 701
Fred Tuffile
Adamian 286
781.891.2431
ftuffile@bentley.edu

MK 590 and MK 701
Michael Tesler
Morison 237
781.891.2216
mtesler@bentley.edu

ST 590 and ST 701
Pannapa Changpetch
Morison 337
781.891.2267
pchangpetch@bentley.edu

TX 590 and TX 781
Scott Thomas
Morison 284
781.891.2979
sthoma1@bentley.edu

Directed Study

Policy Governing Directed Studies

Students are limited to taking no more than two of the following to satisfy elective or concentration requirements: Global Business Experience courses, field-based directed study courses or credit-bearing internships. Individual programs may have further restrictions. Consult with a program director for details.

Preparation for Directed Study

Students interested in pursuing a directed study must prepare a syllabus in collaboration with the faculty member who will be supervising the directed study.

The syllabus should include the following:

  • A brief description of the investigation
  • Goals and objectives for the investigation
  • A required readings bibliography
  • Explanation of course deliverables
  • Percentage attributed to each course deliverable
  • Timeline for course deliverables and course completion
  • Faculty evaluation methods for deliverables

Students must also complete a Directed Study Petition and submit the proposed syllabus with the petition.

Once complete, supervising faculty and department chairs will be required to sign off on the merit of the proposal. If approved, the student will be registered for the approved course.

Deadlines for Directed Study

  • Requests for directed study must be submitted by the first day of the semester that the course will be taken.
  • Approval must be granted prior to beginning the study.

Cost of Directed Study

  • Current tuition is charged for each directed study.

Transcript Notation for Directed Study

  • These courses will be recorded on the transcript with a notation of the topic investigated along with a corresponding course number assigned by an academic department.