You are here

Boston Federal Reserve President Eric Rosengren Presents College Fed Challenge Championship Trophy to Bentley Team for National Title

May 3, 2011

On April 15, Boston Federal Reserve President Eric Rosengren formally presented the national championship trophy to the Bentley team that won the national title at the seventh annual College Fed Challenge in December 2010. Bentley team members, accompanied by faculty advisers David Gulley and Aaron Jackson, accepted the award at the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston. The trip included discussions with Rosengren on issues such as monetary policy, the path to winning the national championship, and strategy for winning next year's competition.

The trophy was engraved with each of the team members' names, comprised of the following Economics-Finance majors: 

  • Maximillian Barco, Senior
  • Christina J. Harstad, Senior
  • Satyajeet Jadhavrao, Junior
  • Pranay Kumar Jain, Junior
  • Shohana Jannat, Junior
  • Peter Jurik, Senior
  • David Norrish, Senior
  • Victoria Lee Tran, Senior

In the highly competitive national competition, Bentley placed first among teams from Lafayette College, Northwestern University, Rutgers University at Newark, and Virginia Commonwealth University. Competing teams played the role of members of the Federal Open Market Committee, the Federal Reserve's monetary policymaking body, including a 20-minute presentation and monetary policy recommendations or decisions. They are judged by a panel of Federal Reserve economists on economic analysis, responses to questions, teamwork, and presentation. College teams compete in their local Reserve Bank Districts, and top teams move on to the finals in Washington, D.C.

Bentley has competed in the Fed Challenge since 2007. In the first year, Bentley advanced to the second round regional competition. In 2008, the team narrowly missed advancing to the second round. The 2009 team took second place in the regional competition.

Type: Campus News