You are here

Phi Sigma Iota

Phi Sigma Iota was founded in 1922 at Allegheny College in Pennsylvania to recognize outstanding achievement in the study of foreign languages. Phi Sigma Iota was the first language society to gain membership in the Association of College Honor Societies. It currently has more than 180 chapters in the United States, Mexico and France and has initiated over 40,000 members since its founding.

The purpose of the organization is to recognize outstanding ability and high standards among students in the fields of foreign languages, linguistics, literature, comparative literature, bilingual education, second language acquisition philology and English as a Second Language.

Bentley’s Zeta Beta chapter of Phi Sigma Iota was founded in 2006 to recognize the high achievements of our modern languages students and has inducted more than 50 students to date.  Students at Bentley may take Chinese, French, Italian or Japanese courses to be eligible for membership into Phi Sigma Iota. Spanish students are eligible for membership in Sigma Delta Pi.


  • Members of the Zeta Beta chapter of Phi Sigma Iota at Bentley University have met the following qualifications:
  • Have a sophomore, junior or senior status
  • Have taken at least three courses in the same language.  For students studying French or Italian, at least one of those three courses must be at the 300-level.  For students studying Japanese or Chinese, at least one of those three courses must be at the 200-level. 
  • Have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 in all language courses
  • Be in the top 35% of his/her class
  • Attend the induction ceremony in the spring semester (Exceptions will only be made for those studying abroad.)

2018 Inductees

Adam Levesque ‘20
Ryan McGeary ‘19
Juan Quiroga Vargas ‘18
Monica Redondo Moro ‘19
Jingyi Wang ’19


Faculty Members

Jane Tchaicha, Faculty Advisor
Laure Astourian, French Faculty 
Mariastella Cocchiara, Italian Faculty

Louis Iandoli, French and Italian Emeritus Faculty
Shiori Koizumi, Japanese Faculty
Yuan Li, Chinese Faculty and Director of CLIC
Mary Marcel, IDCC Faculty
Vanessa Parravano, Italian Faculty

Dean Simpson, French and Spanish Faculty


The Faculty of the Modern Languages Department