Skip to main content

Back to Bentley

The university will return to campus this fall. Read our plan at 

Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration

Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration

The 34th Annual Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration is scheduled on Tuesday, January 28, 2020 from 8:30 - 10:30 a.m. in the Executive Dining Room, LaCava Center. The keynote speaker is April Reign, Creator of #OscarsSoWhite and Social Justice Activist.

April Reign, Creator of #OscarsSoWhite and Social Justice Activist

April ReignApril Reign practiced law for nearly twenty years, honing her talent for public speaking, persuasive writing and effecting policy change, but it wasn't until she walked away from her legal practice that she found her true passion.

As the creator of the viral hashtag-turned-movement, #OscarsSoWhite , April has been
challenging the lack of representation of marginalized communities in Hollywood and
beyond since 2015. Reign sustains a movement that has resulted in the most permanent systemic change ever seen in the over 80-year history of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Her name continues to be synonymous with this historic change, the results of which are reverberating throughout the entertainment industry and will do so for decades to come.

Reign is an influential and sought-after media presence, having built an impressive global organic social media following over several platforms, as well as a network of recognized celebrities, creators, activists, and decision makers at the corporate level. Reign capitalizes on this network and her experience, using her voice to spark conversations and explore issues of race, politics and culture, helping structure ways to turn dialogue into action.
April Reign travels internationally, speaking at academic institutions and conferences; is available for appearances at industry awards, festivals and events; and is highly sought-after for consulting with organizations regarding issues of diversity and inclusion.

Past MLK Celebration Speakers

2019       Callie Crossley

2018       Dr. Michael Eric Dyson

2017       Dr. Walter E. Fluker

2016       Cornell William Brooks 

2015       Dr. Mae C.  Jemison 

2014       Dr. Deborah Willis (Video)

2013       Dr. Neal Lester 

2012       Darryl Vernon Poole ‘68 (Video)

2011       Rehema Ellis (Video)

MLK Committee

The breakfast is organized by the MLK Planning committee which includes faculty and staff members from various departments across campus.  

Inspirational Quotes

For inspirational quotes by the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., please view this document.