Registering Your Vehicle
Parking decals are issued by University Police and are required in order to park in any university parking lots. Each student, faculty, and staff member who operates or parks a motor vehicle or motorcycle on the property of Bentley University must register their vehicle with the University Police and obtain a campus parking permit.
Registration may be completed through MyBentley. Once you have registered your vehicle online, you can pick up your parking decal at the University Police station. Bring your valid driver's license, valid motor vehicle registration, and Bentley ID card.
Decals must be permanently affixed to the lower passenger side front window above the door lock. If windows are tinted, apply to inside front windshield in lower corner on driver’s side. Only one decal can be displayed on your vehicle; displaying more than one decal may result in a parking citation. They are not transferable.
Student Parking Fees
The fee for the parking decal is a one-time, non-refundable fee good for the semester. The fee is the same whether you request a decal at the start of the semester or at any other time during a semester and it will not be pro-rated. Once a new parking decal is obtained, students will not be required to replace the parking decal each year. The fee will be renewed each semester as long as the student is registered for classes that semester.
Effective the Fall 2013 semester, the following fees will be assessed for student parking decals:
Resident students (undergrad and grad) - $62.50 per semester
Commuter Day (Undergrad) - $37.50 per semester
Commuter Part-Time (evening and grad) - $25.00 per semester
All students must have a parking decal or temporary pass at all times on their vehicles. Students that do not purchase a decal or temporary pass cannot park on campus at any time, including the weekends.
Lost Parking Decals
Any student that loses their parking decal will be required to purchase an additional decal. If the decal that was reported lost is turned into the University Police the student will be notified and have their account refunded. If a decal that has been reported lost is found on another student’s vehicle, then the student responsible for the vehicle will be charged for the parking decal, judicial charges may be filed, and the original permit holder will be refunded.
Massachusetts General Law Chapter 90, Section 3 requires every non-Massachusetts resident enrolled as at a school or college in the commonwealth and who operates a motor vehicle in another state or country during any period beginning September 1 of any year and ending August 31 of the following year to:
- Maintain Massachusetts-mandated insurance coverage of the vehicle
- Complete the online Non-Resident Driver Statement and Submit it
- The form for will be automatically be sent to the Card Office and you will be permittted to obtain and properly affix a non-resident decal/sticker to the vehicle
In addition, the law also requires all schools (except secondary schools), colleges and universities to:
- Provide the non-resident student with the Non-Resident Driver Statement
- Issue non-resident decals/stickers
- Maintain a register containing certain information relative to students who operate out-of-state registered vehicles in Massachusetts
Failure to file the Non Resident Driver Statement (and obtain a non-resident decal) is punishable by a fine not to exceed $200.00.
Note: The non-resident decal is separate from the university's parking decal. There is no charge for a non-resident decal.
First-Year Resident Students
First year resident students are not allowed to have vehicles on campus. Some exceptions for medical and/or financial hardships may be made on a limited basis. Documentation confirming such a hardship will be required. The fee for parking, if authorized, is $62.50 per semester. First year resident students must request special permission to park on campus by submitting a written request through the freshmen parking request form.
First year students granted parking privileges must comply with very strict guidelines. Written guidelines are provided and each first year resident student is required to sign an agreement acknowledging their understanding of the strict parking guidelines. Violation of these guidelines may result in the towing of the student’s vehicle, revocation of parking privileges and judicial referral. Freshman with decals or passes are only allowed to park in Lot 1 closest to Forest St. Upper class students may not procure parking decals or passes for first year students. Those who attempt to do so will face disciplinary action and revocation of their own parking privileges. Parking violations appeals will not be allowed for freshmen who violated the strict guidelines imposed.
Where to Park
Vehicles must be parked in white, lined spaces only. All parking lots have signs designating who is authorized to park there; all lots are denoted in our campus parking map.
The commuter parking decal authorizes you to park in regular spaces in university lots designated for general parking while on campus. You are not allowed to park in spaces reserved for visitors, faculty, staff, resident students, or handicapped parking (unless you have a state-issued handicapped placard) or spaces specifically marked for special purposes.
The red resident parking decal authorizes you to park in lots designated for resident parking on lower & main campus. You are not allowed to park in spaces reserved for visitors, faculty, staff, commuter students, general lots, or handicapped parking (unless you have a state-issued handicapped placard) or spaces specifically marked for special purposes.
Students may park in staff and faculty lots on weekends only; parking is prohibited in these lots between Sunday at 10:00 p.m. and Friday at 6:00 p.m. In the event that there is a three-day weekend as a result of a university-recognized holiday, overnight parking will be extended until 10:00 p.m. on Monday night.
If you are having trouble locating a place to park, contact us at 781.891.2201 for assistance locating a legal parking space.
Properly registered student vehicles are authorized to park overnight in all resident student parking lots at all times. Students may also park overnight on weekends in staff parking areas between 6:00 p.m. on Fridays and 10:00 p.m. on Sundays. In the event there is a three-day holiday weekend, overnight parking in staff lots will be extended until 10:00 p.m. on Monday nights. Note: Student vehicles parked in staff lots prior to 6:00 p.m. on Friday or after 10:00 p.m. on Sunday nights (or Monday nights on a holiday weekend) will be ticketed and towed, without warning, at the operator's expense.
Visitor and Guest Passes (NEW REGULATIONS)
Special parking permits for visitors and guests can be obtained at the University Police Station at no charge. You are required to inform your guests of all-parking rules and regulations on campus. Those who park without passes are subject to tickets and fines. Guests of resident students are only allowed to park in the Farm lot, designated as Lot #20, located on lower campus. Spaces in other lots marked for visitors are for persons not affiliated with Bentley. You are not authorized to park in visitor parking spaces, even when using an alternate vehicle. Student guests hang tag passes are mandatory from Sunday at 3:00 pm until Friday at 3:00 pm. These passes are issued at the University Police Station. The student must accompany the visitor to pick up the pass. The visitor must bring their valid license and valid registrations (NO EXCEPTIONS) All weekend student guests from Friday 3:00 pm until Sunday at 3:00 are required to register at the University Police Station and show a valid drivers license or photo ID. Any vehicle not on this registry is subject to tow. No student who did not purchase a decal or temporary pass are allowed to bring their vehicle on campus just for the weekend.
Second Motor Vehicle
If you need to use a second motor vehicle you must purchase a second decal or temporary pass. If you must use another vehicle temporarily (for example when your primary vehicle is in the repair shop), you must obtain a special temporary hangtag permit from University Police. This pass will be issued, at no charge if proof of the repairs is shown or verified. The temporary decals must be displayed by hanging it on the vehicle’s rear view mirror.
Handicapped parking spaces are restricted to vehicles displaying a Massachusetts handicapped placard issued by the Registry of Motor Vehicles, or a temporary handicapped pass issued by the City of Waltham.
Temporary passes are issued by the City of Waltham to those who demonstrate a need for handicapped parking due to a temporary medical condition. Medical documentation from a physician must be provided when applying for a temporary pass and should specifically indicate the duration for which a parking pass will be needed. To request a pass, complete the Temporary Handicap Parking Permit Form.
Jumpstarts and Unlocks
We issue jumpstart kits for disabled vehicles. To request a kit, you must come to the University Police station with your ID card to pick up the jumper kit and complete the form. This service is offered 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Bentley University Police vehicles carry slim jim tools to unlock motor vehicles and gain access to most vehicle makes and models. In rare cases, slim jims have caused damage to locking mechanisms, so they are used at your own risk.
Working with the Residential Center, we will make every effort to notify the Bentley community of impending snow storms that require temporary relocation of vehicles for snow removal. Specific instructions will be provided when snow emergencies are in effect. Inclement weather parking policies.
Overnight parking in lots designated at general, faculty or staff parking will not be allowed to park during the winter months (November 1 through March 31). This measure is required because increased overnight parking in many general lots has hindered emergency snow removal operations. If overnight parking is needed, please contact University Police.
All vehicles that are in the previously mentioned lots after midnight during the winter months will be subject to towing at the owner's expense.
Motor Vehicle Storage
Long- and short-term vehicle storage is available for students, staff and faculty. To request storage, you must complete the Motor Vehicle Storage Form and submit it to University Police prior to leaving your vehicle on campus.
Any vehicle that is allowed to remain on campus must be properly registered and insured. University Police will instruct you as to where you are authorized to park your vehicle on campus.
Additional Info for requesting a replacement decal, including last year's freshmen
Follow the instructions below if you are a:
- Commuter student transitioning to a resident student
- Resident student transitioning to a commuter student
- Last year freshmen and you purchased a parking decal during the previous academic year
Returning with Same Vehicle
If you are returning in the fall/spring with the same vehicle, you will need to do the following:
- Bring proof that the other decal has been scraped off, preferably a picture of the decal intact and a picture of the decal half scraped off.
- Bring your license, vehicle registration, and Bentley ID with you to the Card Office. There are no exceptions
- We will issue you a new Commuter/Resident decal and the adjustments will be made to your account. You do not have to re-register on the portal.
Returning with New Vehicle and Same Plate
If you are returning in the fall/spring with a different vehicle with the same plate number, you will need to do the following:
- Bring proof that the other decal has been scraped off, Preferably a picture of the decal intact and a picture of the decal half scraped off.
- Bring your license, vehicle registration, and Bentley ID with you to the Card Office. There are no exceptions.
- We will issue you a new Commuter/Resident decal and the adjustments will be made to your account. You do not have to re-register on the portal
Returning with New Vehicle and Plate
If you are returning in the fall/spring with a different vehicle, you will need to do the following:
- Bring proof that the decal has been scraped off, preferably a picture of the decal intact and a picture of the decal half scraped off.
- You must request another parking permit online through your MyBentley account.
- Bring your license, vehicle registration, and Bentley ID with you to the Card Office. There are no exceptions.
- We will issue you a new commuter/resident decal and the adjustments will be made to your account.
Returning Without a Vehicle
If you are returning without a vehicle, you will need to do the following:
- Email email@example.com with a picture of your parking decal intact and a picture of the decal half scraped off. Please state in the email that you will no longer have a vehicle on campus and include your name, student ID number, and the license plate number of the vehicle to which the decal was affixed. The decal will be expired and voided, which will allow for the parking fee to be taken off of your student account.
- Last year freshmen only: Your account was not charged, so you do not have to do the above unless you were charged.
Please direct any questions to firstname.lastname@example.org or contact the Card Office at 781.891.2292.
Temporary Parking Passes (Hang Tag Passes)
All students, except freshmen, who do not purchase the parking decal are allowed three one-day passes, to be used on individual days or all at one time each semester at no cost. If you need to have a vehicle on campus after using the allotted free passes, you must purchase a temporary pass.
The cost for temporary passes is $25.00 for one week or $50.00 for a month for any type of pass. All parking rules and regulations set forth by the university apply to the temporary passes and the necessary documentation brought to University Police when picking up the temporary decal.
You can purchase a temporary decal by applying and paying for the decal online. (NOTE: The receipt you print out is not the pass and should not be placed in the vehicle as a pass). Temporary passes are also available for purchase with your Falcon Funds at the Card Office during their normal business hours (Monday – Friday 8:30 am to 3:30 pm). No decal or pass will be issued without the proper documentation and receipt.
If you choose to purchase the pass online, print out the receipt and bring it with the necessary vehicle and license documentation to the University Police dispatch center or Card Office and you will be provided with a temporary decal. The pass is not valid until picked up at University Police and the active/expire dates of the pass are written on the pass and the pass placed in the vehicle.