Skip to main content



Announcing the Provost Search Committee

Dec. 17, 2021

Dear Bentley Community,

One of the most consequential efforts our university will undertake over the coming months is the search for our next provost and vice president for academic affairs. In November, I shared with the community that Donna Maria Blancero had informed me of her decision to step down as provost at the end of the academic year. Now, we will begin the process of identifying the academic leader who will help Bentley realize the exciting and necessary goals and aspirations we are defining through our strategic positioning process. 

We have an aggressive but achievable timeframe to name a new provost in the coming months, and today I’m pleased to announce the first step in the process. I have nominated a strong and diverse search committee to help me identify the right leader for the institution in the years ahead. A strong and balanced committee is critical to a successful search and I’ve put a great deal of thought and deliberation into forming this committee. I believe the collective expertise, background and perspective of this group will ensure the success of this search.

Liz Brown, associate professor in Law and Taxation, graciously accepted my request to serve as the chair for this search committee. Isaacson Miller, the same firm and search consultants that brought me to Bentley, will assist the search. I was very impressed by the team at Isaacson Miller, and they have a keen understanding of Bentley. I’m confident they will present a robust pool of diverse, dynamic and talented candidates.

In addition to Liz, the committee will consist of the following members:

  • Joy Gray, PhD ’16, Senior Lecturer of Accountancy, Vice Chair of Accountancy Department
  • Casey Hayward, MFA, Associate Professor of English and Media Studies
  • Ranjoo Herr, PhD, Professor of Philosophy
  • Donna Kendall, Associate Vice President of Enrollment and Dean of Undergraduate Admission
  • Judy Malone, JD, Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary of the Corporation
  • Jeff Moriarty, PhD, Professor of Philosophy, Executive Director of Hoffman Center for Business Ethics
  • Tracy Noga, PhD, Professor of Accountancy, Chair of Accountancy Department
  • Aaron Nurick, PhD, Professor of Management
  • Rick Oches, PhD, Dean of Arts and Sciences, Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Kiana Pierre-Louis ’99, JD, Senior Lecturer of Law and Taxation
  • Kartik Raman, PhD, George and Louis Kane Professor of Finance, Chair of Finance Department
  • Tiana Rossi ’22, President of Student Government Association
  • Christian Rubio, PhD, Associate Professor of Modern Languages, Chair of Modern Languages Department
  • Andrew Shepardson, PhD, Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
  • Betsy Stoner, PhD, Assistant Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Dave Szymanski, PhD, Associate Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences, Chair of Natural and Applied Sciences Department

I am certain this committee contains the experience and insight necessary to help Bentley identify the next provost for this university. That person will be charged with enabling our amazing faculty to fulfill their highest aspirations in teaching, scholarship and service, and in positioning Bentley for excellence in the coming decades.

I look forward to Liz and this committee providing updates about their search in early 2022. I have no doubt this committee will represent us well in the market as we begin the search for our next academic leader.

Most Sincerely,
President Chrite